Honoring the student-athletes in Del Rio High's fall sports

Award winners from Del Rio High School’s cross-country, football and volleyball programs were recognized during the annual Fall Sports Awards ceremony Sunday afternoon at the Carl P. Guys Memorial Gymnasium.

Praise for the work of Del Rio High School’s fall sports student-athletes was on display Sunday as the school district held its annual awards ceremony to recognize the sports that have already wrapped up their seasons in 2018.

Cross-country, football and volleyball coaches recognized their top athletes for the 20018-19 season in an hour-long ceremony Sunday afternoon in the Carl P. Guys Memorial Gymnasium.

Most of the coaches also took the time to thank their respective booster clubs and the parents of the kids they coach, citing their support and efforts to make the season go as smoothly as possible.

Cross-country was the first sport to present its awards. Head coach Vicky Perez oversaw the awards and introduced her regional and state qualifiers first. Following that recognition, Perez presented the program’s annual individual awards.

Raymon Gonzalez and Ozlynn Urias were given the Performance award.

Isabelle Gonzalez and Cristian Sanchez were given the Reliability award.

Alyssa Torres and Itzcoatl Vazquez were given the Improvement award.

The Dedication award went to Isabelle Gonzalez and Rolando Lopez.

Leianna “Lily” Jimenez and Matthew Ortiz won the Effort award.

Newcomer of the Year went to Jimenez and Sam Pippen.

Most Improved was Torres and Vazquez.

The Freshmen Runners of the Year were Desstiny Beltran and Roy Dominguez.

The Junior Varsity Runners of the Year were Jakob Ortiz and Torres.

The Runners of the Year were Urias and Raymon Gonzalez.

The Joey Rios Commitment and Dedication award went to Isabelle Gonzalez, Lopez and Sanchez.

Perez also recognized Pippen, Mark Ortiz and A.J. Flores for being named to the academic all-district team. Pippen, a senior, is currently ranked first in his class and said he will attend either Texas A&M University or the University of Texas at Austin.

Perez closed her presentation of awards with a special thank you to the program’s seniors. That group were freshmen when Perez was named the new cross-country coach and she said they all grew up together.

“Knowing my way isn’t always the best and sometimes I had to step outside of my comfort zone was something I owe to these seniors,” Perez said.

Football was next to present its awards. Presenting the awards were First Assistant coach Martin Sandate and defensive coordinator Nick Mendez.

Defensive Most Valuable Player went to Kaylon Green.

Guy Creamer was named the Offensive Most Valuable Player.

Sergio Mireles was presented with the Special Teams Most Valuable Player award.

The Oscar Sauceda Jr. Leadership Award went to Luis Bagneschi and Anthony Maldonado.

The Ruben Chavira award went to Kyle Smith.

The Ram Tough award was presented to Carlos Nandin and Ricky Gonzalez.

The Lupe DeHoyos Sportsmanship Award went to Nick Padilla and Kai Fernett.

Volleyball was the final sport to present its awards. Head coach Eloisa Valdez presented the awards, which were voted on by players in the program.

Karime Ramirez was named the Freshmen Player of the Year.

Emily Treviño and Jaleen Perez were the co-Junior Varsity Players of the Year.

Audrey Raabe, who is ranked 11th in this year’s senior class, was presented with the Academic award.

Sofia Zarazua won the Top Server award.

Miranda McNeal and Helena Garabedian were named co-Offensive Players of the Year.

Jessika White and Zarazua were named co-Defensive Players of the Year.

Blocker of the Year went to Kyndal Gladson.

Most Improved were Sara Martinez and Kassandra Vilchez.

The Queen of Hearts award went to Raabe.

Garabedian and McNeal shared the Utility Player of the Year award.

Gladson and Raabe were named co-Most Valuable Players.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.