San Felipe Del Rio Independent School District board of trustee incumbents running for re-election maintain their leads in their respective races, according to recently updated unofficial election results.

The election administration counted ballots from in-person voting, mail-in and emailed ballots said Generosa “Janie” Gracia-Ramon, Val Verde election administrator.

Gracia-Ramon said they also added votes from military citizens outside the continental United States. She said they only counted votes submitted by 5 p.m. on Nov. 9. Military voters had an additional five to six days to turn in their votes. Their votes are indicated below as “plus number.”

For Board of Trustees Place II, Joshua D. Overfelt holds his lead with 6,161 (plus 4) votes followed by Jacques De La Mota with 2,444 (plus 1) votes and Glafiro “Firo” Santellanes, Jr. with 2,993 (plus 2) votes.

In Trustee Place VI, Diana E. Gonzales added to her lead over Felix Escobedo Jr. and with 4,305 (plus 5) votes. Escobedo Jr. has 3,244 (plus 1). The other Place VI candidates, Diego M. Almaraz, Jr. and Hugo Sanchez have 2,614 (plus 2) and 2,512 votes, respectively.

Amy Haynes’ tally jumped to 7,041(plus 6). She maintains her comfortable lead over Jesus Emilio Galindo who has 4,286 (plus 2) votes and Juan Leon who has 1,264 votes.

In the Comstock Independent School District, there were no significant changes in voting numbers. Top vote-getter Bill Zuberbueler still has 168 votes. Jimmy Crane and Miguel S. Zuniga each got one more vote. Vicky Roberts got two more votes (158). Gracia-Ramon said Comstock does not receive overseas military votes. The top four vote getters in Comstock’s board of trustees race are elected.

San Felipe Del Rio school district will canvass the board of trustee election results in its school board meeting on Nov. 16. It will also issue a certificate of election to newly-elected officers.

Board of Trustee Place VI incumbent Diane E. Gonzales said she is honored to have gained the community’s trust and the opportunity to serve another term.

She added she will continue pushing for fair district employee compensation, funding to increase resources for students with disabilities and support and resources for teachers.